choosing my first rifle

Discussion in 'General Hunting' started by cbs, Oct 28, 2003.

1. cbs

cbs Fawn

Oct 28, 2003
    Mchenry, IL, USA.
    Hi all, Im new to hog hunting and am very interested in buying my first rifel,(use to shotguns) Im looking at buying a winchester model
    70 but cant decide what caliber to choose, I like the super short 223 & 243, or should I stick to a standered 270wsm,7mm-wsm,300wms?
    I would like a strong caliper so I may use this for deer, but I dont need A big game gun, I want to choose a good all around caliper as this is my first rifle, thanks all for your advise

2. aceoky

aceoky 12 pointer

Jul 14, 2003
    The Tin Foil Mansion
    First(and perhaps most important) find a rifle that fits YOU...feels good to YOU. Hogs can get huge and are very dangerous especially when they're wounded so I'd want "more gun" than a .223 or .243(the .243 is an awesome deer rifle..might not be enough for a large hog )

I think it would be a mistake to start out with ANY of the mags(short or otherwise)...the recoil/muzzleblast can teach you very bad habits hard to break(such as flinching) and they shouldn't be needed for what you're looking for.

Any of the "all around calibers" should do just fine 7mm-08(wife just bought one for herself....it's an awesome rifle!)....270 .308 and if recoil(kick) doesn't bother you too much 30/06(shotguns are different with a rifle ONE bullet has to hit the "target" to get the job done..if you're worried about the gun's kick you most likely won't ever shoot very well with a rifle)[:)]
    I hope that's enough to "get you started"!{:D]

<hr noshade size="1">
    I'd rather be lucky than good any day!!

Reloaders Haul Brass!

3. Larry Carter

Larry Carter 8 pointer

Mar 2, 2003
    Crab Orchard, Ky, USA.