KY in a week

Discussion in 'Camping' started by josh chatham, Mar 14, 2017.

1. josh chatham

josh chatham Fawn

Feb 3, 2016
    I am a teacher from GA. We have spring break the first week of April. Myself, my wife and 2 kids (4 and 3) were wanting to start at LBL and move our way east. Any recommendations after LBL. Probably wont be doing any primitive camping bc of the kids. We were thinking LBL and maybe Mammoth Cave and after that we are wide open. Should we spend a few days at each or would you guys go to other places. Any info would be much appreciated! Thanks!

2. timer

timer 6 pointer

Feb 20, 2013
    La Grange
    For kids that age I'd suggest checking out the campground at the KY Horse Park - just outside of Lexington.

3. xbokilla

xbokilla 12 pointer

Jun 28, 2012
    Are you staying hotel/motel, RV or what? Most of our State Park Resorts are nice. You could go Mammoth Cave, Lake Cumberland, Cumberland Falls, Natural Bridge, there are more east too just not sure about how much time you'll have.

4. josh chatham

josh chatham Fawn

Feb 3, 2016
    We are primarily going to be tent camping. We do a good bit of camping in GA just have never been to KY and we have been wanting to see it. Thanks for the information and any other you have will be appreciated!

5. EdLongshanks

EdLongshanks 12 pointer

Nov 16, 2013
    Northern Kentucky
    Great recommendations. I'm really partial to Jenny Wiley state park as well.

6. xbokilla

xbokilla 12 pointer

Jun 28, 2012
    Sorry Josh when you said you weren't doing primitive, I assumed no tent. All of these places have campgrounds as well. Word of advice, it can get very brisk, especially at night, here that time of year. I live about 5 mins from Ky Horsepark as mentioned above. Lots for a kid to do your just not exactly "getting back to nature". Have fun. My little girl just turned 4 and thinks camping is the best thing in the world.

7. josh chatham

josh chatham Fawn

Feb 3, 2016